Jump to main content

Texan Sky Scholarship Recipients

Texan Sky is proud to have awarded ELEVEN scholarships totaling $12,500!

The five-member scholarship committee judged 24 applicants on the basis of academic achievement, leadership, character, length of credit union membership, and number of credit union services utilized. The scholarship recipients will be attending schools throughout Texas, Arizona, and Oklahoma.

Over the past twenty years, Texan Sky Credit Union (formerly as Shamrock Federal Credit Union) has awarded scholarships to credit union members and been an avid supporter of those pursuing a post secondary education. Texan Sky is hoping to make an even bigger impact in 2020, where $15,000 will be presented in scholarships. 

Credit union members are eligible to apply for a scholarship if they are full-time students pursuing an education at a university, college, junior college, trade or vocational school. Each application is scored anonymously, based on predetermined criteria. Each of the eleven 2019 scholarship recipients received a scholarship ranging from $2,250 to $750. The 2019 Texan Sky Credit Union scholarship recipients are as follows:


Makenzie Dunning, Dumas, TX-  Amarillo College/Junior

Makaylie Dunning, Dumas, TX- West Texas A&M University/Sophomore

Samantha Sauer, Dumas, TX- West Texas A&M University/Freshman

Kaitlyn Noel, Three Rivers, TX- University of Texas/Freshman

Citlali Botello, Dumas, TX- Amarillo College/Freshman

Michael Vasquez, Dumas, TX- Ottawa University/Senior

Beau Swimmer, Seminole, TX- Southeastern Oklahoma State University/Freshman

Valerie Talamantes, Dumas, TX- Amarillo College

Nicholas Payne, Stratford, TX- Texas Tech University/Senior

Gunner Walters, Dumas, TX- West Texas A&M University/Junior

Kenlie Baxter, Dumas, TX- Wayland Baptist/Sophomore